Board of Directors

Alan Heller, Chairman

Alan Heller has over 35 years of leadership experience in the healthcare industry. Mr. Heller currently holds a position as an Operating Partner at Water Street and serves as Chairman of the Board of Capstone Development, Custopharm and Long Grove Pharmaceutical. He holds an MBA from DePaul University and a B.S. from the University of Illinois, Chicago.

Bryant Fong

Bryant Fong is a founding General Partner at Biomark Capital, a life sciences private equity fund formed in 2013. Prior to Biomark Capital, Mr. Fong was a Managing Director at Burrill & Company, where he spent almost 16 years investing in and managing investments in private and public companies in the biotechnology industry. Some of Mr. Fong’s notable investments include Pharmasset, Galapagos, Ferrokin Biosciences, Ceptaris Therapeutics, and Novadaq Technologies. Mr. Fong currently serves on the Boards of Directors of a number of private life science companies. Mr. Fong graduated with honors in Biochemistry from the University of California at Berkeley.

Beth Hecht

Beth Hecht joined Neos Therapeutics Board of Directors in September 2015. Beth serves as Managing Director and Chief Legal and Administrative Officer of Auven Therapeutics, a global private equity firm with offices in the U.S., Bermuda, St. Thomas USVI and Switzerland that acquires and develops pharmaceutical products that address unmet medical needs. She has over twenty years of senior management experience in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industries, building and leading legal, compliance and security teams at companies including Durata Therapeutics Inc., MedPointe Inc., Warner Chilcott PLC, ChiRex, Ltd. and Alpharma Inc. Ms. Hecht started her career as an attorney specializing in corporate transactions and intellectual property at Willkie Farr & Gallagher and then Kirkland & Ellis. Ms. Hecht received a J.D. from Harvard Law School and a B.A. from Amherst College.

Jerry McLaughlin

Jerry McLaughlin has served as Chief Executive Officer and a member of the Board of Directors since June 2018. Prior to joining Neos, Mr. McLaughlin served as President and Chief Executive Officer of CNS biopharmaceutical company, AgeneBio, since June 2014. Prior to joining AgeneBio, he served as the Senior Vice President and Chief Commercial Officer of NuPathe Inc. until the company was acquired by Teva Pharmaceuticals Industries Ltd. in 2014. Previously, Mr. McLaughlin was at Endo Pharmaceuticals from 2001 to 2007 and served in a variety of commercial leadership roles at Merck from 1990 to 2001. He holds a B.A. in Economics from Dickinson College and an M.B.A. from Villanova University.

Jim Robinson

Jim Robinson has served on our Board of Directors since January 2019 and is currently the President and Chief Operating Officer of Alkermes, where he leads the commercial, operations, business development, and human resources functions. Prior to joining Alkermes, he joined Astellas in 2005 as vice president of health systems, rising to President of Astellas Americas Operations in 2016. Prior to joining Astellas, he served as an executive at the former Schering-Plough Corporation, which was acquired by Merck & Company in 2009. Mr. Robinson is a member of The Commercial Club of Chicago and serves on the BioScience Council for ChicagoNEXT. He is a founding member of MATTER and is also on the Board of Directors for the Chicago Botanic Garden. Mr. Robinson received his Bachelor of Science degree from DePaul University.

Greg Robitaille

Greg Robitaille is responsible for corporate development at Water Street, where he manages the strategic development and acquisition activities of the firm’s specialty health care distribution companies. Mr. Robitaille also spent 10 years with Equity Group Investments, the primary investment company of Sam Zell. He holds a Bachelor’s degree from Hamilton College and an MBA from Columbia University.

John Schmid

John Schmid has served on our Board of Directors since June 2015. Mr. Schmid served as Chief Financial Officer of Auspex Pharmaceuticals, Inc., a publicly traded biotechnology company, from September 2013 until its sale to Teva Pharmaceuticals, Inc. (NYSE: TEVA) in June 2015. Prior to that, he co-founded Trius Therapeutics, Inc., where he served as Chief Financial Officer from June 2004 until its merger with Cubist Pharmaceuticals, Inc. (NASDAQ: CBST) in September 2013. Mr. Schmid also served as Chief Financial Officer at GeneFormatics, Inc. from 1998 to 2003 and as Chief Financial Officer at Endonetics, Inc. from 1995 to 1998. He currently serves as chairman of the board of directors of Speak, Inc. Mr. Schmid holds a B.A. in Economics from Wesleyan University and an M.B.A. from the University of San Diego.

Linda M. Szyper

Linda M. Szyper has served on our Board of Directors since April 2018 and has been the Chief Operating Officer at McCann Health since January 2018. From September 2014 to March 2017, Ms. Szyper was the Chief Commercial Officer and President, US Operations at Circassa Pharmaceuticals plc, or Circassa. Prior to joining Circassa, Ms. Szyper was the Chief Development Officer, PHCG Global Development of Publicis Healthcare Group from January 2008 to September 2014. Ms. Szyper holds an MBA from DePaul University’s Kellstadt Graduate School of Business and a Bachelor of Science in Biomedical Engineering from Northwestern University.